Skip to main content

Boys and Girls High School Library: Research Databases Home

Welcome to the Boys and Girls Research Home Databases Page!

What is a database anyway?

It might be helpful for you to think of a database as an electronic file cabinet stocked with tens of thousands of pieces of information in many different formats including (but not limited to):  articles, images, film clips, maps and music.  What makes databases so amazing is that they are arranged for easy access to specific information.  For the purpose of academic research, databases beat the open web not only because they are easier to search, but also because the information in databases has been evaluated for authority and accuracy.  

Gale Common Menu

The Gale Common Menu is a list of the databases available to us from Gale.

To search all the databases at once, start with PowerSearch.  

What is PowerSearch?

PowerSearch is a collection of articles from thousands of Gale resources – magazines, journals, newspapers and books along with videos, images and podcast content.

If you prefer to limit the number of databases you are searching: 

 Click on the Research Databases Home tab above for a drop down menu of our databases categorized by subject.

Searching Tips

Remember ...

                                                            

Keyword searching is like looking at an index in a book.

Subject searching is like looking at the Table of Contents.

Try searching both ways - you will get better results.

Tips for Evaluating Your Search Results

Be smart about the information you use!

Whenever you can, you should use databases for your school assignments instead of the open web.  This is because in general, the articles in databases have already been evaluated for accuracy and authority.  Even so, before printing you need to examine your search results and answer the following questions:

  • Does this information meet my needs?
  • Can I understand the information when I read it?
  • Is the information current?  When was it published?
  • For controversial issues/topics, ask yourself:  What perspective does the author take?  What is the other perspective?  Is this information biased?  How?

Image Credit

The images used on the database pages are out of the public domain and available at pixabay.