Skip to main content

Boys and Girls High School Library: General Research

Good for General Research

Start your research with encyclopedias and general reference databases.

Before using any site on the internet, be sure to evaluate it for its worth (see the Evaluating Websites box below)

Encylopedias

The encyclopedias listed below are a good place to start your research.  Before looking elsewhere, consider finding and reading an encyclopedia article on your topic.  This strategy will help you to gain some general background information from which you can expand your searching to include more in-depth information. (Note:  You can search each encyclopedia individually or search all of them at once by clicking on the Scholastic GoGrolier hyperlink below.)

Encyclopedia Americana

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

New Book of Knowledge

Nueva Enciclopeida Cumbre (Spanish Language)

Scholastic GoGrolier:  includes eight encyclopedia databases Encyclopedia AmericanaGrolier Multimedia EncyclopediaThe New Book of KnowledgeLa Nueva Enciclopedia CumbreAmerica the BeautifulLands and PeoplesAmazing Animals of the World, and The New Book of Popular Science.

Evaluating Websites

Before using any website as a source of information, you must evaluate its worth by asking yourself:

  • is this information reliable?
  • where does it come from?
  • is it current?
  • who created it?
  • is it biased?

To help you evaluate any website you access for use on school assignments, apply the C.R.A.P. test to determine its:

Currency

Reliability

Authority

Purpose/Point of View

Use the any one of the worksheets provided below to apply the C.R.A.P. test to websites.

How Good Is Your C.R.A.P. Detector?

Think you have skills when it comes to detecting C.R.A.P. on the internet?  Try your hand at evaluating each of the websites listed below.  Use one worksheet for each.

General Research Databases

The following databases are best for General Research:

Academic OneFile:  The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

Elibrary:  provides access to newspapers, magazines, books, maps, pictures, audio/visuals at a variety of interest and reading levels. 

Expanded Academic ASAP:  From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.  Access scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers - many with full text and images!

Gale Virtual Reference Library:  Thousands of full-text entries sorted by the following subjects:  arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, nation and world, religion and science.

General OneFile:  A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics:  business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics.   Millions of full-text articles, many with images.  Updated daily.

Kids InfoBits:  Easy to read articles from a number of kid-friendly magazines.  Ideal for a "quick read" on your topic.

Creating a Bibliography

A bibliography is a list of resources you used to complete your assignment.  Use either Citation Machine or Easy Bib to create your bibliography.