Skip to main content

Boys and Girls High School Library: Best for Current Events

Current Events Databases

The following databases are best for Current Events:

General OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics - business, computers, current events, economics, education ,environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many more general interest topics.

InfoTrac Newsstand:  An innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database that allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.  A one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives.

National Newspaper Index: Provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers ni one seamless search:  The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

New York State Newspapers:  a collection of full-text articles from every major newspaper in the state of New York.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Information on today's social issues.  Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts.

ProQuest:  Includes thousands of newspapers and magazines, many updated daily.  1986 to present.  Hint:  Before beginning your search, be sure to check off "Full Text Articles Only."