Skip to main content

Boys and Girls High School Library: Best for History/Social Studies

History/Social Studies Databases

The following databases are best for History/Social Studies:

America the Beautiful:  provides access to a collection of U.S. topics, timelines, profiles, games and an almanac

Criminal Justice Collection:  provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.

Diversity Studies Collection:  provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.  

Lands and Peoples:  an encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events for middle-school and high-school students.

Military and Intelligence Database:  provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

U.S. History Collection:  provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

War and Terrorism Collection:  provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.

World History Collection:  provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.