Access to the databases on this page is provided by the City University of New York (CUNY).
Remote access password: nyc
The following databases will allow you to access millions of pages of primary sources and historical newspapers:
Artemis Primary Sources: an integrated research environment that allows users to search the following four primary source collections simultaneously:
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection: The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online: use this collection to access images of every page of books published during the 18th Century.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Content includes monographs, newpapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics and more focused on the 19th century.
- The Making of the Modern World: provides digital images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. The collection spans the years 1450-1914 (in two parts) and offers material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics and area studies.
Note: to search all four databases at once, click on Artemis Primary Sources link above. To search each of the databases independently, click on the individual links above.
The Economist Historical Archive: Contains every issue of the Economist since its launch in 1843. Essential reading for anyone interested in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive - includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Divided into the following four parts (searchable independently or simultaneously):
- Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition,
- Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World,
- Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and
- Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery
- The Slavery and Anti-Slavery database contains:
- 5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
- Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research.
- Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.